Post Clay Cup, Peterson Still Winning




Everson, WA – With Clay Cup in the rear view mirror, Deming Speedway returned to action on Friday night with racing sponsored by Coors Light and Mt Baker Roofing. Clay Cup winner Jared Peterson was back to his winning ways, leading the pack of drivers in the 600 division into victory lane. Joining him were Brock Lemley in the 1200s, Lane Taylor in the 600 Restricted, Levi Kuntz in the Junior Sprints and Brian Lee in the visiting Dwarf Car class. 


The front of the field was chaotic in the Speedmart 600 Open division. Ryley Mayer led the first nine laps of action before slower traffic became an extreme issue, giving Chance Crum an opportunity to zip by him. Still mired in slower traffic, Crum had a car literally zig every time Chance zagged in front of him opening the door for the fast closing Jared Peterson to sneak underneath him on lap thirteen and take the lead. Crum would slow on the 15th lap, ending his night and causing a caution. On the restart, Peterson took off, leaving the field in his wake en route to his 10th win of the year, on the heels of is $10,000 Clay Cup win. Kyle Johnson came out on top of a spirited battle for second and Ryley Mayer ran third. Peterson, Dakota Drake and Mayer were heat winners. 


Brock Lemley was a wire-to-wire winner in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Gaining the lead off the high side of turn two on the opening lap, Lemley stayed committed to the high groove for nearly every subsequent lap and took the win with little challenge. Behind him, Jared Gundersen and Derek Holmwood went side by side in second and third for a huge chunk of laps, with Gundersen eventually coming out on top for the runner up spot. Heat winners were Holmwood and Nate Vaughn in the 8n. 


Lane Taylor put on a show in the Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted division. Working his way up from fourth, Taylor passed Blaine Granberg for the lead on lap seven, then rode the rim on his way to an exciting win, with Granberg and Levi Klatt rounding out the podium. Granberg and Taylor won heat races along with Keira Zylstra. 


In the Clean Crawls Junior Sprints, Levi Kuntz won his third main of the year and first in many months after leading all 20 laps of the feature with Levi Hillier close to him nearly all race long. A great battle between Brooklyn Constance and Avery Askvig ended with Askvig taking the final podium spot. Askvig and Hillier were the heat winners. 


Dwarf Cars made their first appearance at Deming Speedway in roughly three seasons. Brian Lee won the main event from his seventh place starting spot ahead of heat race winner Troy Kunas who came from eighth. Rick Taylor ran third. 


Speedmart 600 Open

Heat 1 – Jared Peterson, Jeremy Holz, Kyle Johnson, Spencer Constance, Seth Anderlini, Jeff Little, Morgan Benson

Heat 2 – Dakota Drake, Chance Crum, Levi Klatt, Malachi Gemmer, Ryan Van Baal, Austin Edson, Billy Coates

Heat 3 – Ryley Mayer, Keith Wickard, Jake Trueman, Austin Woods, Jason Schapansky, Colin Mackey, Kai Dixon

Main – Jared Peterson, Johnson, Mayer, Gemmer, Drake, Holz, Klatt, Wickard, Constance, Edson, Anderlini, Little, Dixon, Van Baal, Coates, Schapansky, Trueman, Mackey, Crum, Benson, Woods

Lap Leaders – Mayer 1-9 Crum 10-12 Peterson 13-25

Hard Charger – Edson +9


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Heat 1 – Derek Holmwood, Brock Lemley, Jared Gundersen, Alex Lewis, Tanner Schoonover, Dakota Drake, Bryce Bogardus, Tyson Lemley

Heat 2 – Nate Vaughn, Tyson Cross, Terry Lewis, Seth Hespe, Clennon Holloway, Alan Lindquist, Tanner Reid

Main – Brock Lemley, Gunderson, Holmwood, Cross, Vaughn, Hespe, A Lewis, Holloway, T Lewis, Drake, T Lemley, Bogardus, Schoonover, Reid, Lindquist 

Lap Leaders – Lemley 1-25

Hard Charger – Holloway +4


Dwarf Cars

Heat – Troy Kunas, Brian Lee, Rick Taylor, Rich Brewer, Dan Scott, Cole Logan, Danny Karslake, Steve Taylor

Main – Brian Lee, Kunas, R Taylor, Karslake, Brewer, Scott, Logan, S Taylor

Lap Leaders – Brewer 1 Scott 2-4 Lee 5-10

Hard Charger – Lee +6


Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted

Heat 1 – Keira Zylstra, Brody Ferguson, Axel Oudman, Levi Klatt, Jayden Whitney, Haylee Bloodgood, Diane Knutzen

Heat 2 – Lane Taylor, Malachi Gemmer, Seth Anderlini, Tyler Conley, Carson Guffie, Rylee Kentch

Heat 3 – Blaine Granberg, Haley Constance, Jesson Jacobson, Allison Johnson, Ben Ferrera, Zoey Tupper

Main – Lane Taylor, Granberg, Klatt, Zylstra, Gemmer, Ferguson, Whitney, Ferrara, Johnson, Bloodgood, Guffie, Kentch, Anderlini, Constance, Knutzen, Jacobson, Oudman, Conley, Tupper

Lap Leaders – Granberg 1-7 Taylor 8-25

Hard Charger – Ferrara +9


Clean Crawls Junior Sprint

Heat 1 – Avery Askvig, Kane Van Sickle, Peyton Drake, McKenna Morgan, Olivia Laurimore, Realee Bourdon

Heat 2 – Levi Hillier, Brooklyn Constance, Levi Kuntz, Cruz Kentch, Jonathan Bright, Chase Whitney

Main – Levi Kuntz, Hillier, Askvig, Constance, Morgan, Drake, Van Sickle, Whitney, Bright, Kentch, Bourdon

Lap Leaders – Kuntz 1-20

Hard Charger – Whitney +4

Add Your Comment