Hogarth Goes Wire to Wire at Deming Speedway




Everson, WA – The second biggest prize of the year was on the line Saturday night at Deming Speedway and Cody Hogarth rose to the occasion with a wire to wire win in the 600 class. The 600s, 1200s and 600 Restricted all ran for $1,000 to win, and Brock Lemley, Jesson Jacobson and Levi Hillier were the winners in the other divisions. Racing on the weekend benefited the Mt Baker Athletic and Academic Fund with over $13,000 raised to benefit local area high schoolers. 


The Speedmart 600 Open division was the headliner on Saturday night, and Hogarth was the man from the drop of the green flag. Hogarth led all 30 laps with very little challenge in winning his first feature of the season ahead of Kyle Johnson and Chance Crum. Kaitlyn Hammer, Seth Anderlini, Reece Goetz and Cam Smith won the heat races. 


The race of the night was in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 class, where Seth Hespe and Brock Lemley were engaged in a barnburner. Hespe led the first 23 laps of the main with Lemley right on him as the wove through slower traffic. With slower traffic in both the high and low grooves, Lemley found his way around Hespe on the 24th lap by picking the right lane, then consistently made the right choice within the slower traffic for the last six laps to take the win. Derek Holmwood cleared Seth late for the runner up position. Heat winners were Lemley and Clennon Holloway. 


Smart racing in traffic also scored a $1,000 prize for Jesson Jacobson in the Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted class. Having led from the start, Jacobson was facing a stiff challenge from Lane Taylor late as the pair closed on slower traffic. Jacobson used the slower car as a basketball style pick, trapping Taylor in the low groove and extending his advantage far enough out to secure the win. Lane would settle for second with Levi Klatt taking third. Heat winners were Axel Oudman and Ben Ferrara. 


A great battle up front in the Clean Crawls Junior Sprints ended with Levi Hillier collecting his 11th win of the year. It took 11 laps for Hillier to find his way past Kane Van Sickle and make the race winning pass. Van Sickle ran a strong second with McKenna Morgan coming from the back of the field to finish third. Peyton Drake won the heat race. 


Speedmart 600 Open

Night 1 Lock Ins – Kyle Johnson, Jared Peterson, Chance Crum, Cody Hogarth

Heat 1 – Kaitlyn Hammer, Ryley Mayer, Colin Mackey, Levi Klatt, Austin Woods, Jason Schapansky

Heat 2 – Seth Anderlini, Kyle Kennedy, Dakota Drake, Tanner Reid, Austin Edson

Heat 3 – Reece Goetz, Kyle Mitchell, Dylan Resch, Malachi Gemmer, Kai Dixon

Heat 4 – Cam Smith, Jordi Meese, Jeremy Holz, Devin Fisher, Alex Riesch

B Main – Levi Klatt, Reid, Riesch, Woods, Schapansky, Gemmer, Edson, Fisher

A Main – Cody Hogarth, Johnson, Crum, Drake, Kennedy, Holz, Resch, Goetz, Reid, Meese, Klatt, Hammer, Peterson, Mitchell, Riesch, Mackey, Smith, Anderlini, Woods, Mayer

Lap Leaders – Hogarth 1-30


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Night 1 Lock Ins – Steven Hendrickson, Jared Gundersen, Chance Crum, Derek Holmwood

Heat 1 – Brock Lemley, Seth Hespe, Nate Vaughn, Tyson Lemley, Alan Lindquist, Tanner Reid, Tanner Schoonover

Heat 2 – Clennon Holloway, Dakota Drake, Alex Lewis, Terry Lewis, Bryce Bogardus, Cal Herdson

Main – Brock Lemley, Holmwood, Hespe, Hendrickson, Gundersen, Drake, Holloway, A Lewis, Crum, Vaughn, T Lewis, T Lemley, Lindquist, Reid, Schoonover, Herdson, Bogardus

Lap Leaders — Hespe 1-23 Lemley 24-30


Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted

Night 1 Lock Ins – Levi Klatt, Lane Taylor, Malachi Gemmer, Jayden Whitney

Heat 1 – Axel Oudman, Keira Zylstra, Audrey Balmert, Tank Chorney, Blaine Granberg, Cejay Adkins, Rylee Kentch

Heat 2 – Ben Ferrara, Jesson Jacobson, Tyler Conley, Haylee Bloodgood, Diane Knutzen, Caleb Grantham, Brody Ferguson

Main – Jesson Jacobson, Taylor, Klatt, Zylstra, Granberg, Oudman, Gemmer, Ferrara, Grantham, Chorney, Conley, Adkins, Kentch, Bloodgood, Knutzen, Balmert, Whitney

Lap Leaders – Jacobson 1-30


Clean Crawls Junior Sprints

Night 1 Lock Ins – Levi Kuntz, Levi Hillier, Kane Van Sickle, McKenna Morgan

Heat – Peyton Drake, Avery Askvig, Conner Sagmoen, Drake Hadlock, Cruz Kentch, Jonathan Bright, Karma Fagerlie

Main – Levi Hillier, Van Sickle, Morgan, Askvig, Sagmoen, Kentch, Fagerlie, Hadlock, Drake, Kuntz, Bright

Lap Leaders – Van Sickle 1-11 Hillier 12-25


Add Your Comment