Gunner Wins One for Wayne at Deming Speedway

Gunner Wins One for Wayne at Deming Speedway


Everson, WA – Nothing punctuates a memorial night like a driver winning for his fallen crewman, That was the story of the night at Deming Speedway on Walton Beverage / Service Pro / Premiere Excavating night, with Jared Gundersen picking up the victory in memory of Wayne Edson. Jared Peterson, Jesson Jacobson and Levi Hillier were the other division winners.

Fate smiled on Gunner in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 class as his car was not only a rocketship, but he caught a small break while entering traffic for the first time. Three cars got together in front of him on lap seven, shooting Gundersen into the outside wall of turn four, and letting Nate Vaughn close right up to his rear bumper. A caution flew shortly thereafter, getting Jared out of traffic and back into clean air on the restart where he was absolutely dominant in securing his second win of the year and dedicating it to Wayne Edson, his long time crew member and fixture of Deming Speedway who passed away last Sunday. Vaughn would secure second and Chance Crum was third. Derek Holmwood, Brock Lemley and Vaughn won the heat races.

Jared Peterson is a marked man in the Speedmart 600 Open class. Peterson used the bottom to catch race leader Ryley Mayer and used a slidejob to pass him on lap nine in taking his third win in the past four races. Mayer was second with Colin Mackey posting a season best third place run. Mayer, Peterson, Mackey and Parker Hadlock won the heats.

Jesson Jacobson collected win number one in the Mytrafficman.NET600 Restricted class. Levi Klatt led the initial start which was called back for a caution. On the next try, Jacobson beat Klatt out of turn two to secure the initial advantage and led all 25 laps to score the win. Klatt would keep second for the duration of the race with Jake Trueman taking third. Heat wins went to Carson Guffie, Malachi Gemmer, Trueman and Brody Ferguson.

The dominant season for Levi Hillier continued in the Clean Crawls Junior Sprints. After passing Levi Kuntz on the ninth lap, Hillier rolled unchallenged the rest of the way in the non stop 20 lap A Main for his fourth win of the season. Kuntz was second with Orin Biggs taking his first podium of the year in third. Heat winners were Biggs and Hillier.

Speedmart 600 Open

Heat 1 – Ryley Mayer, Kaitlyn Hammer, Jesse Schlotfeldt, Jeremy Holz, Skyler Jennings, Tanner Reid, Sean Ferguson

Heat 2 – Jared Peterson, Reece Goetz, Chance Crum, Austin Woods, Joe Constance, Kailee Voigt

Heat 3 – Colin Mackey, Kyle Johnson, Dylan Resch, Tyler Mcleod, Dakota Drake, Levi Klatt

Heat 4 – Parker Hadlock, Ryan Holz, Tyson Lemley, Austin Edson, Colby Thornhill, Josh Monroe

B Main – Skyler Jennings, McLeod, Drake, Reid, Klatt, Ferguson

A Main – Jared Peterson, Mayer, Mackey, Johnson, Crum, J Holz, Lemley, Thornhill, Resch, Drake, Jennings, Schlotfeldt, Hadlock, Reid, R Holz, Edson, McLeod, Hammer, Woods, Goetz

Lap Leaders – Mayer 1-7 Peterson 8-25

Hard Charger – Drake +9


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Heat 1 – Derek Holmwood, Frosty Metcalfe, Jared Gundersen, Tanner Schoonover, Tyson Lemley, Dick Williams, Alan Lindquist

Heat 2 – Nate Vaughn, Chance Crum, Cal Herdson, Seth Hespe, Bryce Bogardus, Dakota Drake

Heat 3 – Brock Lemley, Clennon Holloway, Steven Hendrickson, Tanner Reid, Terry Lewis, Alex Lewis

Main – Jared Gundersen, Vaughn, Crum, Holmwood, Hendrickson, Hespe, B Lemley, Holloway, Drake, A Lewis, Reid, Herdson, T Lemley, Schoonover, Metcalfe, Williams, Lindquist, Bogardus, T Lewis

Lap Leaders – Gundersen 1-25

Hard Charger – Hendrickson +7


Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted

Heat 1 – Carson Guffie, Levi Klatt, Blaine Granberg, Tank Chorney, Catherine Fagerlie, Destry Miller

Heat 2 – Malachi Gemmer, Tyler Conley, Keira Zylstra, Corbin Ramsey, Diane Knutzen, Axel Oudman

Heat 3 – Jake Trueman, Haylee Bloodgood, Haley Constance, Dominic Carter, Allison Johnson, Xan Miller

Heat 4 – Brody Ferguson, Jesson Jacobson, Audrey Balmert, Jayden Whitney, Seth Anderlini, Rylee Kentch

B Main – Haley Constance, Balmert, Chorney, Oudman, Ramsey, Kentch, Johnson, Whitney, D Miller, X Miller, Fagerlie, Knutzen

A Main – Jesson Jacobson, Klatt, Trueman, Carter, Zylstra, Granberg, Ferguson, Conley, Bloodgood, Gemmer, Chorney, Oudman, Guffie, Constance, Anderlini, Balmert

Lap Leaders – Jacobson 1-25

Hard Charger – Carter +8


Clean Crawls Junior Sprints

Heat 1 – Levi Hillier, Levi Kuntz, Avery Askvig, Jayden Huppert, Brooklyn Constance, Cruz Kentch

Heat 2 – Orin Biggs, Kane Van Sickle, Peyton Drake, McKenna Morgan, Chase Whitney

Main – Levi Hillier, Kuntz, Biggs, Drake, Van Sickle, Askvig, Constance, Huppert, Morgan, Whitney, Kentch

Lap Leaders – Kuntz 1-8 Hillier 9-20

Hard Charger – Hillier +3

Add Your Comment