Gundersen Pulls Out Late Race Win at Deming Speedway




Everson, WA – A little patience among slower traffic went a long way for Jared Gundersen in picking up his fifth win of 2018 on North Coast Credit Union / Special T Signs and Graphics night. Joining him in victory lane were Jon Farrell, Malachi Gemmer and Levi Hillier.


Ryan Cully paced the field early in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 main, which ran wingless on the night. With rain during the day, the track stayed heavy and Cully was precise in hitting his marks while Gundersen made his way up the field to challenge. The race was decided amongst slower traffic, as Gundersen used a slower car to to pin Ryan low, then used the outside of the track exiting turn four to pass Cully and take the lead on the 23rd lap. He would hold strong for the final two circuits to grab the win, followed by Cully and Clennon Holloway. Frosty Metcalfe and Jacob Buckenmeyer won the heats.


For the first time in roughly a decade, Jon Farrell cracked victory lane at Deming Speedway in the Speedmart Hoosier 600 Open division. Farrell used his outside pole starting spot to his full advantage, taking the lead on the exit of turn two on the opening lap and rolling away with no challenge in taking the win. Ryley Mayer was second with Tyson Lemley taking third. Farrell and Kaden Holm won the heats.


Malachi Gemmer collected his first Deming Speedway win in the Mytrafficman.NET 600 restricted class. Gemmer outdueled Dakota Drake amongst slower traffic to take the lead on the 10th lap, but it was Drake coming back into the lead on the 17th lap as a caution came out. The field did not complete the circuit before the yellow flew however, and the lineup reverted to lap 16 which gave Gemmer back the lead. With clean air and a clear track ahead, Gemmer would hold strong over the final nine laps to grab the win ahead of Dakota and Blaine Granberg. Heat winners were Drake, Granberg and Jake Trueman.


Levi Hillier took a big step to securing the season title for the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints by winning his sixth feature of the year. A lap three restart gave Levi a path underneath Levi Kuntz and into the lead, which he would for the remainder of the race. Kuntz would take second with Jayden Whitney running third. Heat wins went to Whitney and Keira Zylstra.


Speedmart Hoosier 600 Open

Heat 1 – Kaden Holm

Heat 2 – Jon Farrell

Main – Jon Farrell, Ryley Mayer, Tyson Lemley, Kaden Holm, Tanner Holm, Colin Mackey, Kaitlyn Hammer, Dakota Drake, Alden Ostrom, Austin Edson, Jared Peterson

Lap Leaders – Farrell 1-25


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Heat 1 – Frosty Metcalfe

Heat 2 – Jacob Buckenmeyer

Main – Jared Gundersen, Ryan Cully, Clennon Holloway, Steven Hendrickson, Alex Lewis, Frosty Metcalfe, Tanner Schoonover, Bryce Bogardus, Alan Lindquist, Dick Williams, Jacob Buckenmeyer

Lap Leaders – Cully 1-22 Gundersen 23-25


Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted

Heat 1 – Dakota Drake

Heat 2 – Jake Trueman

Heat 3 – Blaine Granberg

Main – Malachi Gemmer, Dakota Drake, Blaine Granberg, Jeremy Holz, Jake Trueman, Jesson Jacobson, Alex Gouy, Haylee Bloodgood, Bryce Bezanson, Seth Anderlini, Allison Johnson, Levi Klatt, Ben Ferrera, Rylee Kentch, Parker Hadlock, Corbin Ramsey

Lap Leaders – Drake 1-9 Gemmer 10-25


Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints

Heat 1 – Keira Zylstra

Heat 2 – Jayden Whitney

Main – Levi Hillier, Levi Kuntz, Jayden Whitney, Peyton Drake, Keira Zylstra, McKenna Morgan, Cruz Kentch, Elizabeth Wade, Kane Van Sickle, Carson Guffie, Sydney Benson

Lap Leaders – Kuntz 1-2 Hillier 3-20

Add Your Comment