Crum Starts 2019 With 600 Win at Deming Speedway

Crum Starts 2019 With 600 Win at Deming Speedway


Everson, WA – Chance Crum opened his 2019 campaign with a win at Deming Speedway on Pacific Power Batteries, Jim’s Automotive, Diehl Ford and Washington Alarm Night. Joining him in victory lane were Nate Vaughn, Blaine Granberg and Levi Kuntz.

Devon Borden had control of most of the race in the Speedmart 600 Open division main event before lapped traffic became a big part of the equation. As traffic got more intense, Chance Crum found his rhythm and closed the two second advantage Borden had built down to just a car length. A caution flag on lap 22 for Tanner Reid set Crum right on Borden’s back bumper for the restart. Borden appeared to suffer from a mechanical malfunction as his car lacked the top end speed from his earlier run. Crum took advantage, sliding under Borden to take the lead on the 24th lap and cruising on to victory. Heat winners were Kaden Holm, Cody Hogarth, Colin Mackey and Kevin Wilkinson. Reece Goetz won the B Feature.

Despite a damaged top wing, Nate Vaughn carved through the field to take the opening night win in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Early side panel damage didn’t keep Vaughn from moving forward from his seventh place starting spot, using the inside line off turn four to advance into second, then taking the lead on 18 when race leader Chance Crum got together with a slower car. Crum kept the car rolling but couldn’t keep off Vaughn who sprinted away to the win. Heat wins went to Frosty Metcalfe, Derek Holmwood and Dick Williams.

Blaine Granberg went wire to wire in the Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted class. Granberg nimbly moved through slower traffic, as the race went 20 laps before the first stoppage. Jake Trueman had started to close before the stoppage for a flipping Keira Zylstra, but with open track ahead of him on the restart, Granberg was too fast, taking the win with Trueman and Jordi Meese rounding out the podium. Caleb Grantham, Levi Klatt, Corbin Ramsey and Audrey Balmert won the heats.

Levi Kuntz used slower traffic to his advantage to win the first feature of the year for the Clean Crawls Junior Sprints. Kuntz rolled up on leader Drake Hadlock as Hadlock had two lapped cars side by side in front of him on the 10th lap. Hadlock attempted to pass high, and Kuntz found just enough of a gap underneath the slower traffic to take the lead and eventual win. Levi Hillier passed Hadlock late for second, relegating the former race leader to a third place finish. Kuntz and Hadlock also won the heat races.

Speedmart 600 Open

Heat 1 – Kaden Holm, Jesse Schlotfeldt, Parker Hadlock, Kyle Johnson, Reece Goetz, Austin Edson

Heat 2 – Cody Hogarth, Devon Borden, Dakota Drake, Ryley Mayer, Tanner Reid, Ryan Van Baal

Heat 3 – Colin Mackey, Chance Crum, Tanner Holm, Dylan Resch, Tyson Lemley, Jason Schapansky

Heat 4 – Kevin Wilkinson, Jared Peterson, Kaitlyn Hammer, Keith Wickard, Jeremy Holz, Levi Klatt

B Main – Reece Goetz, Holz, Reid, Edson, Lemley, Van Baal, Schapansky, Klatt

A Main – Chance Crum, Hammer, Johnson, Schlotfeldt, Borden, Mayer, K Holm, Hogarth, T Holm, Resch, Goetz, Wickard, Mackey, Drake, Hadlock, Holz, Edson, Reid, Peterson

Lap Leaders – Borden 1-23 Crum 24-25

Hard Charger – Johnson +9


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Heat 1 – Frosty Metcalfe, Chance Crum, Alex Lewis, Seth Hespe, Clennon Holloway, Bryce Bogardus

Heat 2 – Derek Holmwood, Tyson Lemley, Jared Gundersen, Steven Hendrickson, Cal Herdson, Alan Lindquist

Heat 3 – Dick Williams, Tanner Reid, Nate Vaughn, Terry Lewis, Dakota Drake, Tanner Schoonover

Main – Nate Vaughn, Hendrickson, Gundersen, Crum, Holmwood, Hespe, Metcalfe, Williams, Holloway, A Lewis, Lemley, Reid, Schoonover, Herdson, Drake, T Lewis, Bogardus, Lindquist

Lap Leaders – Gundersen 1-10 Crum 11-17 Vaughn 18-25

Hard Charger – Hendrickson +7


Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted

Heat 1 – Caleb Grantham, Jordi Meese, Blaine Granberg, Dominic Carter, Axel Oudman

Heat 2 – Levi Klatt, Brody Ferguson, Keira Zylstra, Diane Knutzen, Seth Anderlini

Heat 3 – Corbin Ramsey, Jake Trueman, Macie Logsdon, Tank Chorney, Carson Guffie

Heat 4 – Audrey Balmert, Jesson Jacobson, Haylee Bloodgood, Rylee Kentch, Tyler Conley

Main – Blaine Granberg, Trueman, Meese, Logsdon, Jacobson, Klatt, Anderlini, Ramsey, Ferguson, Grantham, Balmert, Carter, Bloodgood, Oudman, Kentch, Guffie, Conley, Zylstra, Knutzen

Lap Leaders – Granberg 1-25

Hard Charger – Anderlini +5


Clean Crawls Jr Sprints

Heat 1 – Levi Kuntz, Levi Hillier, Peyton Drake, Jayden Huppert, Chase Whitney, Jonathan Bright

Heat 2 – Drake Hadlock, Kane Van Sickle, McKenna Morgan, Cruz Kentch, Realee Bourdon, Carson Van Baal

Main – Levi Kuntz, Hillier, Hadlock, Van Sickle, Drake, Morgan, Whitney, Van Baal, Bourdon, Bright, Kentch, Huppert

Lap Leaders – Hadlock 1-8 Kuntz 9-20

Hard Charger – Whitney +4


Add Your Comment