Crum Doubles Up Deming Speedway
Crum Doubles Up Deming Speedway
Everson, WA – On the third race night of 2018, Chance Crum became the first winner to “do the double”, taking victories in two classes on one night of action. Joining Chance in victory lane were Zach Keefe, Dakota Drake and Levi Hillier.
The second of Crum’s two feature wins came in the Speedmart Hoosier 600 Open division. From the initial green, the race was all Crum, as he railed around the high side of the speedway for all 25 laps in going wire to wire for the feature win. Ryley Mayer was a strong second with Evan Margeson taking third. The heat race wins went to Mayer, Tanner Holm, Jared Peterson and Tyson Lemley.
His first feature win of the night came in the Northwest Focus Midget Series where he found the high side of the speedway to his liking in the Thompson Family owned entry. On lap nine, Crum blasted around Tristin Thomas and survived multiple restarts en route to the victory. Jonathan Jorgenson passed Thomas on one of those restarts for second, with Tristin taking third. Heat winners were Thomas and Jorgeson, along with Sawyer Lind and Katie Jackson.
Fortune favored Zach Keefe who took his first win in front of his home crowd in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. The lead four cars tangled going into to turn one on lap seven, which gave the then fifth place running Keefe the top spot. From there, the Arlington, WA driver held off a game Dustin O’Brien to collect the victory in front of O’Brien and Seth Hespe. O’Brien and Frosty Metcalfe won the heats.
One week after a caution flag cost her a possible win, Dakota Drake overcame another yellow flag to grab her first Deming Speedway win of the year in the Mytrafficman.NET 600 restricted division. Drake took the lead for the first time on lap 14 only to see a yellow flag revert the field to the running order from the previous completed lap. On the restart, Drake powered underneath eventual runner up Parker Hadlock in the bottom of turn four to retake the top spot and ran flawlessly the rest of the way to grab the win ahead of Hadlock and Blaine Granberg. Heat races went to Colin Mackey, Tyler McLeod, Jesson Jacobson and Granberg.
Levi Hillier raced his way to his first win of the season in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. An inside move to the bottom of turn two on lap nine secured the top spot for Levi, and veteran style moves through traffic kept him well in control for the rest of the race. Carson Guffie led the first eight laps and ended up second with Austin Held taking third. Heat wins went to Hillier, Kane Van Sickle and Held.

Add Your Comment