Crum Does the Double at Deming Speedway

Crum Does the Double at Deming Speedway


Drivers running two divisions typically have a long night of racing ahead of them, that occasionally pans out to a race win. On Friday night at Deming Speedway, Chance Crum drew triple duty, running three of the five classes on hand and despite a full night of jumping between cars, brought home two race wins and a second place finish on Mytrafficman.NET and Yeager’s Sporting Goods night at the track. Brock Lemley, Malachi Gemmer and Levi Hillier were the other feature winners.

The nightcap of the evening was the Speedmart 600 Open, where Crum went wire to wire for the victory. Crum was challenged late by Jared Peterson, with the pair trading late slide jobs before Crum slammed the door for good with about three laps to go. Peterson settled for runner up with Kyle Mitchell taking third. The two heats were won by Crum and Evan Margeson.

The drama of the night came in the Wicked Energy Gum Focus Midgets with Crum having to run down race leader Matt Loving from a straightaway back with just six laps remaining. Crum erased the nearly three second lead and made a pass around the outside of Loving coming to the white flag to grab the lead and victory in the Thompson Motorsports owned Midget. Loving would take second with Nick Evans third. Shane Smith was the heat race winner.

Brock Lemley extended his May dominance into June by taking his fourth victory in the past six races in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Lemley was untouchable in the feature, winning by a 8.225 second margin of victory as he crossed under the checkered flag on lap 25. Chance Crum and Derek Holmwood rounded out the podium with Steven Hendrickson, Tanner Reid and Frosty Metcalfe winning heats.

Malchi Gemmer picked up his second feature win of the year in the Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted division. Gemmer held the pole for the initial start but was penalized one row for jumping the initial green flag. Jesson Jacobson assumed the pole and led the first eight laps before a caution flag flew for Seth Anderlini. On the ensuing restart, Jacobson and second place running Jayden Whitney got together, resulting in Jacobson spinning and going to the back of the pack. Whitney was penalized a position for rough driving, giving the lead to Gemmer, who led laps nine through twenty five to take the win ahead of Levi Klatt and Whitney. Heat race winners were Tyler Conley, Carson Guffie and Jordi Meese.

Make it six wins for Levi Hillier in the Clean Crawls Junior Sprints. After a spirited battle with Peyton Drake for second, Hillier had just enough time to close in on and pass Kane Van Sickle on the 18th lap before taking the win. Drake passed Van Sickle on the final lap to take second. Hillier and Levi Kuntz won the heat races.

Speedmart 600 Open

Heat 1 – Evan Margeson, Kyle Mitchell, Austin Edson, Jared Peterson, Levi Klatt, Kyle Johnson, Parker Hadlock

Heat 2 – Chance Crum, Dakota Drake, Dylan Resch, Colin Mackey, Tyler McLeod, Sean Ferguson, Austin Sheridan

Main – Chance Crum, Peterson, Mitchell, Margeson, Johnson, Edson, Ferguson, Klatt, Hadlock, Sheridan, Mackey, McLeod, Drake, Resch

Lap Leaders – Crum 1-25

Hard Charger – Johnson +7


Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200

Heat 1 – Steven Hendrickson, Seth Hespe, Derek Holmwood, Chance Crum, Tyson Lemley, Chad Reid, Dick Williams

Heat 2 – Frosty Metcalfe, Jared Gundersen, Tanner Schoonover, Terry Lewis, Clennon Holloway, Alan Lindquist, Bryce Bogardus

Heat 3 – Tanner Reid, Cal Herdson, Alex Lewis, Brock Lemley, Nate Vaughn, Dakota Drake

Main – Brock Lemley, Crum, Holmwood, Hendrickson, Gundersen, Metcalfe, Hespe, A Lewis, T Reid, T Lewis, Vaughn, Holloway, Williams, Herdson, Schoonover, Drake, T Lemley, C Reid, Bogardus, Lindquist

Lap Leaders – Lemley 1-25

Hard Charger – Williams +6


Wicked Energy Gum Focus Midgets

Heat – Shane Smith, Chance Crum, Jeremiah Franklin, Nick Evans, Matt Loving, Alden Ostrom, Ray Stebbins, Brian Hayes

Main – Chance Crum, Loving, Evans, Ostrom, Smith, Franklin, Stebbins, Hayes

Lap Leaders – Loving 1-23 Crum 24-25

Hard Charger – Crum +2


Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted

Heat 1 – Tyler Conley, Levi Klatt, Keira Zylstra, Brody Ferguson, Macie Logsdon, Haylee Bloodgood, Zoey Tupper

Heat 2 – Carson Guffie, Malachi Gemmer, Jesson Jacobson, Jayden Whitney, Tank Chorney, Rylee Kentch

Heat 3 – Jordi Meese, Seth Anderlini, Corbin Ramsey, Dominic Carter, Diane Knutzen

B Main – Axel Oudman, Logsdon, Chorney, Bloodgood, Kentch, Knutzen, Tupper

A Main – Malachi Gemmer, Klatt, Whitney, Meese, Ferguson, Carter, Jacobson, Logsdon, Conley, Zylstra, Ramsey, Bloodgood, Guffie, Chorney, Oudman, Anderlini

Lap Leaders – Jacobson 1-8 Gemmer 9-25

Hard Charger – Carter +6


Clean Crawls Junior Sprints

Heat 1 – Levi Hillier, Kane Van Sickle, McKenna Morgan, Dustin Ramsey, Carson Van Baal

Heat 2 – Levi Kuntz, Peyton Drake, Avery Askvig, Maddie Gjerness, Chase Whitney

Main – Levi Hillier, Drake, Van Sickle, Kuntz, Askvig, Morgan, Gjerness, Ramsey, Whitney, Van Baal

Lap Leaders – Van Sickle 1-17 HIllier 18-20

Hard Charger – Hillier +5

Add Your Comment