Deming Speedway Beats Mother Nature!
Everson, WA - A rainy day in the Pacific NW didn't stop the drivers at Deming Speedway from putting on an entertaining show for the fans on Les Schwab night at the track. Race winners on the evening were Liam Ryan, Mike Vollbrecht, Eric Turner, Ashleigh Johnson and Peyton Rambow.
A lap three restart was the exact opportunity Liam Ryan needed to make the race winning pass in the Speedmart Hoosier 600 Open division. Race leader Jared Peterson went high into turn one and Ryan used the low groove to start a slidejob that he finished coming out of turn two. Peterson would stay hot on Ryan's heels for the rest of the contest, but in the end, Liam took the win with Peterson second and a hard charging Shaun Holtorf taking third. Derek Torkelson was quick time. Heat race wins went to Jon Farrell, Kyle Mitchell and Holtorf.
The Northwest Focus Midget Series made another appearance at Deming Speedway and for the fourth time on the year, Mike Vollbrecht won the main event. Vollbrecht led every lap from the outside pole, turning away a late challenge from Tristin Thomas in taking the win. Thomas settled for second after taking quick time. Nick Evans was third Ryan Cully and Evans won the heat races.
Eric Turner went wire to wire for the win in the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Turner held off Tyson Cross in the early going before stretching his lead on the high side of track. Eric was not seriously challenged again before crossing under the checkered flag for the win. Cross ran second with Jared Gundersen third. Gundersen was fast time. Jacob Buckenmeyer and Seth Hespe won the heats.
It was a flawless performance by Ashleigh Johnson in taking her secondMytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted feature win of the season. Jesse Schlotfeldt stalked Johnson for nearly the entire contest, but time and again, Johnson made the correct decisions amongst slower cars in order to keep the lead and score the win. Schlotfeldt was second after setting quick time. Third was Cody Hogarth. Heat winners were Sawyer Sorgenfrei, Katie Turner and Peyton Hagen.
Peyton Rambow returned to victory lane in the Kasey Kahne Junior Sprints. Rambow took the lead on lap three and held off strong challenges from Tyler McLeod and Haley Constance to take the win. Constance ended up just one position short of a clean sweep on the night by taking second after setting quick time and winning her heat. McLeod ended up third. Baker Fagerlie and Peyton Drake were the other heat race winners.